Narayanasamy wins Nellithope bypoll, to continue as CM

Narayanasamy polled 18,709 votes while Sekar managed to get 7,565 votes. He had to win the bypoll and become an MLA to continue as chief minister.
Right from the beginning Narayanasamy maintained a steady lead. He polled 6,779 votes in the first round, 6,137 in the second and 5,791 in the third and final round as against Sekar’s 2,819 votes in the first, 2,560 and 2,185 votes in the second and third round respectively.

Sekar polled 1,200 votes more than he polled in the May 2016 assembly polls. He polled 6,365 votes and lost the poll to Congress candidate A John Kumar, who polled 18,506 votes.
Kumar resigned to enable Narayanasamy to contest polls.
As many as 334 people opted for Nota in the by-poll whereas 393 opted for Nota in May 2016 assembly polls.

Source: The Times of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *