Petra Kvitova wins 2016 WTA Elite Singles Trophy

Czech Republic’s Petra Kvitova on 6 November 2016 won the 2016 WTA Elite Singles Trophy. She defeated Ukrainian Elina Svitolina 6-4, 6-2 to grab the title at Zhuhai, China.

Venus Williams was the defending champion for the title. However, she chose not to participate despite qualifying for the edition.

About Petra Kvitova

  • Petra Kvitova is a Czech professional tennis player.
  • She turned professional in 2006.
  • She has won nineteen career singles titles including two Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon.
  • She is also an Olympic bronze medallist, having won the medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics.
  • She reached her career-high ranking of world no. 2 on 31 October 2011 and is ranked world no. 13 by the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) as of 31 October 2016.

About WTA Elite Trophy

  • The WTA Elite Trophy is the secondary year-end professional women’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour.
  • The singles event features 12 players (11 of them ranked from 9th to 19th on the final table of the WTA ranking, and one wildcard).
  • The inaugural edition was held in 2015, offering 2.15 million US dollar in prize money.
  • The WTA Elite Trophy replaces the smaller WTA Tournament of Champions which was played 2009–14.
  • Zhuhai, China, hosts the Elite Trophy for the first five years until 2019.

Source: Jagran Josh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *