Telangana redraws its map by adding 21 new districts

Telangana on 11 October 2016, the auspicious occasion of Vijaya Dasami, had redrawn its map by creating 21 new districts. With these, the total number of districts of the youngest state of India went up to 31.

Telangana, which came into existence on 2 June 2014 as the 29th State of India, started out with 10 districts. On an average, each district will have population of two to four lakh families, except Hyderabad where the number is much large.

Reorganisation of districts has been taken up for better administration. Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao inaugurated Siddipet district, carved out of Medak, his home turf. Other 20 districts were inaugurated by his cabinet colleagues.

The new districts are Siddipet, Mancheriyal, Vikarabad, Jagtial, Jangaon, Jayashankar, Warangal (Rural), Mahabubabad, Kamareddy, Medak, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Yadadri, Peddapally, Jogulamba and Medchal/Malkajgiri.

Besides, the state government also created 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police subdivisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations.


Earlier on 22 August 2016, the state government released a draft notification on reorganization of districts in the State. It notified creation of 17 new districts, which later turned up to 21 due to strong demands from various sections.

Source: Jagran Josh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *