Union Cabinet approves setting up of IIM at Jammu

The Union Cabinet on 13 October 2016 approved the establishment of IIM at Jammu.The institute will from a temporary campus at Old Government College of Engineering and Technology.

The project will involve a cost of nearly 62 crore rupees for initial four years from 2016 to 2020.

Key highlights

• The student strength intake for this year in the Post Graduate Diploma Programme (PGDP) in Management is 54 which will progressively go up to cumulative student strength of 120 in the 4th year.

• The detailed project report for the permanent campuses is under preparation and thereafter the process for setting up the campuses will start.

Meanwhile, steps would also be taken up for setting up campus at Jammu and an out-campus in Kashmir region.

Besides, the Union Cabinet also approved the formation of an IIM Jammu Society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. IIM Jammu will be run and managed by the Society with a Board of Governors (BOGs) to be constituted by the Government of India, which will administer the Institute and would be responsible for establishment and operationalisation of the Institute.

The decision is a part of Prime Minister’s development package for Jammu and Kashmir. The Institute coupled with opening of IIT at Jammu, modernization of NIT Srinagar and opening of two new AIIMS institutions, one each in Kashmir and Jammu region will go a long way in meeting the requirement of high quality living and education in the state.


Indian Institutes of Management are the country’s premier institutions imparting best quality education in management on globally benchmarked processes of education and training in management education and allied area of knowledge.

At present, there are nineteen IIMs. Out of these, thirteen IIMs are located at Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Lucknow, Indore, Kozhikode, Shillong, Ranchi, Raipur, Rohtak, Kashipur, Trichy, and Udaipur. Another six IIMs which have been started in 2015 are located at Amritsar, Sirmaur, Nagpur, Bodhgaya, Sambalpur and Vishakhapatnam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *